Lately

Lately 1.18.15-1.24.15

Well hello again. It feels like we were just here, talking about our week! Time flies when you are busy. What is new with everyone?? Please share!

girl day dreaming

It has been another great week of eats! I don’t know about you but sometimes I have doubts.

PB and Banana
(PB And Banana For The Football Game!)

Doubts about myself and food. That I am not doing enough, eating healthy enough, including enough fruits and vegetables and eating too much chocolate and peanut butter.

It makes me upset that I think this way! I compare myself to other food bloggers and try to live up to their standards.

i love oatmeal
(I LOVE Oatmeal!)

But I try to remember that we all have our own style.

own style

I will pick up amazing tips and ideas from other food bloggers.

But I will not be perfect. I will not do exactly what everyone else is doing. I will have my own rules, ideas, and bad days. And it is going to be okay. 🙂

yippee!

The more I try to restrict myself, the worse I will feel.

My Kind Of Pizza
(Monday Night Pizza! Wheat Pizza Dough, Hunt’s Red Sauce, Fresh Whole Mozzarella Cheese, And Pepper And Onion On One Side For Bae! I had A Side Salad! This Is My Kind Of Pizza. I Love The Whole Mozzarella Cheese!)

I wish I could be more like my boyfriend, Chris, and my mom. They try to eat healthy. However, they don’t obsess about it. They balance it all out and their diets don’t have to be perfect!

Bae's Smoothie
(Bae’s Smoothie)

My Smoothie
(My Smoothie)

Perfection In A Cup
(Perfection In A Cup)

It stinks because on most days I want to be a full blown plant loving vegan. I think that is the most attractive diet, in my eyes. The food that is involved is amazing, it is SO healthy for your body, and to top it all off you are doing GREAT for our planet and animals.

Then on some days I wonder why I am so passionate and obsessed with eating healthy. Is it for the wrong reasons? Do I know enough about nutrition to proclaim myself as a healthy food blogger, or am I just a amateur? I question it all.

Homemade Dressing
(Homemade Honey Mustard Dressing)

dinner night 2
(Steamed Kale, Broccoli, And Homemade Sweet Potato, Corn And Black Bean Enchiladas!)

We all just need to remember that life isn’t perfect. I started out this Nutrition journey as a PASSION. I have done hours of my own research, and still do. As well as educating myself with The Institute For Integrative Nutrition! I am not a expert nor will I ever be. But I love learning, experimenting and sharing my passion with others and I WILL continute to do this for a long time!

Popcorn for The Bachelor
(Homemade Popcorn- Popped In Coconut Oil! Great Snack For The Bachelor On Monday Night!)

There a lot of things I wish I was better at. (Writing, photography, running, cooking, creating recipes, baking, etc.) But it all takes practice.

yes i did this!
(I Drew This For A Friend’s Birthday. I Am Happy With It! It Is A Work In Progress But It Is Something I Am Proud Of. I Hope She Likes It!)

Food is fuel. Food is fun. Food is sentimental. I love that we all have different preferences when it comes to food. My mom loves her meat. She makes a mean Chili, Baby Back Ribs, Breaded Chicken, Meatballs, etc. We don’t always agree on food but when we do, we have a great time in the kitchen! We have made a lot of different dishes together including a yummy Strawberry Rhubarb Jam and different pasta dishes including chickpeas! I love being in the kitchen with my mom. My favorite time in the kitchen with my mom is in the early morning. We enjoy our coffee and prepare a big yummy breakfast for the family. This includes sweet potatoes, bacon, and my famous scrambled eggs!

dinner night 3
(Frozen Steamed Brussel Sprouts, Soooooooooo Good And Gnocchi With A Ton Of Vegetables And Red Sauce!)

I want to be vegan. But I also know that a little Mozzarella, Chicken and Eggs won’t hurt me too much. I do what I can and a lot of people may not understand my perspective on food. But again, that is okay!

Finished Product
(Homemade Spicy Chicken Quesadillas! With A Side Of Guacamole. Would You Like The Recipe?)

My Cute Boy
(How Cute Is He?!)

Who knows, in one year I could have a totally different perspective on food. Years ago people were afraid of fat and still ate wheat. Now, people love fat and don’t like wheat! Things change.

patiently waiting for bananas
(Patiently Waiting For These Bananas To Become REALLY Ripe!)

Great Breakfast
(A Favorite Weekend Breakfast Of Mine!)

Overall, I think I can give myself a break. Maybe obsess a little less. Learn what I can and take what I can from it. Then share my knowledge with others. If others feel differently and have a different perspective, that is okay! Everything little thing will be alright.

perfect morning
(Coffee And A Green Smoothie.)

I needed more protein powder. I decided to run over to Whole Foods after work on Friday and guess what? Vega was having a 3 day sale and their products were 40% off! I was SO happy!

So, what have we learnt? Have your veggies…..

Yummy Snack
(Tea, Trader Joe’s Joe Joe’s And Peanut Butter For A Pretty Little Liars Snack On Tuesday Night!)

…… and have your treats too!! Tomorrow is another day to get it right. 🙂 I promise you!

Question for you:

Please don’t be shy, share some love with me. 🙂

If there was ONE food you couldn’t live without, what would it be? What about ONE meal?

See you next week! If you haven’t seen my Lately Post from last week, check it out here!

Thanks!

Lauren

One thought on “Lately 1.18.15-1.24.15

Leave a Reply

