Lately

Lately 1.12.15-1.18.15

Hello everyone! I hope everyone has had a great week. I just wanted to come say hello and tell you about my week! Who else is watching the NFC Conference Championship right now? I am not the biggest fan of football but I try to get into it with my Bae. He is the biggest football fan/nerd I know! 😛

football fan

See what I mean? LOL

My brother is moving to UNH today. He commuted his first semester of college and then decided he wanted to live on campus. Therefore, he felt the need to move a little bit further away from home to make it worth it. Which I can understand! It is just crazy to think my baby brother is going to be in his second half of his first year of college! We are six years apart and he has ALWAYS been my baby brother!!

jeff and josh

My Brother and his Best Friend at their High School graduation (2014)

jeff and i

My Brother and I at his High School Graduation (2014)

Back to the food talk! I try to do groceries every two weeks instead of every week. I am not really sure why, it just happened that way when I first got to Portland, Maine and I am trying to stick to it. I will have to go back to the store sometimes for fresh fruits or vegetables. But that doesn’t take long!

For the most part I have been doing my groceries at Hannaford. It is three minutes down the road and it is where I use to do my groceries in New Hampshire. However, this weekend I wanted to try something new. I went to Trader Joes, Wholefoods, and Hannaford! I don’t know why I waited so long to go to Trader Joe’s and Wholefoods! Trader Joe’s was by far my favorite! Such great prices! I think it is better priced than Hannaford!

Here are part of the goodies I bought that should last me the next few weeks! 🙂

All the almond milk!!

All the Almond Milk! For my smoothies. 🙂

Crazy with the bulk bins!

Went a little crazy at the bulk bins at Whole Foods. A bunch of nuts, and raisins for a homemade trail mix. I also picked up popcorn kernels to make my own popcorn! 🙂

Bae's Surprise

Picked up a surprise for Bae at the Whole Foods hot bar! Some type of Enchilada. He is in love with Mexican food! 🙂

rolled oats, quick oats

Rolled Oats and Quick Oats for baking and oatmeal!

Bread, wraps, kale, and romaine!

Bread and wraps from Trader Joe’s. Kale and lettuce for cooking and salads!

onions, avacodo

Onions and Avocado!

Other items I purchased included dark chocolate (chips and bars!) A ton of veggies which you will see in my Food Prep photos! Bananas, Dates, Apples, and Pears. Gnocchi to try for dinner one night! Pizza dough and Mozz ball from Trader Joe’s for a pizza night. Gluten Free Joe Joe’s from Trader Joe’s because, well, I couldn’t resist. Then, other random items I won’t bore you with! If you want a more in depth list of my groceries, just let me know!

Now on to what I have been eating this past week.

apple cinnamon

Coffee and Apple Pumpkin Cinnamon Oatmeal

oatmeal pancake

Pear and Oatmeal Pancake topped with Trader Joe’s Flax and Chia Seed Crunchy Peanut Butter and Pure Maple Syrup!

Snack Plate

Snack Plate of Vegetables, Hummus, Dates and Peanut Butter

trail mix

Trail Mix

cookies

Homemade Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Coookies

Mornings are pretty consistent except for this week. I had to improvise Thursday and Friday since we were out of absolutely everything! Usually I have oatmeal and a green smoothie for breakfast. Lunch is early and I try to include a salad. I snack in between lunch and dinner. Usually it includes fruit and nuts. Dinners will always be different. Usually we will make a homemade pizza one night every two weeks.

I am trying really hard to do more food prep on Sunday’s. It makes the weeks so much smoother! I managed to get it done this week. Take a look!

this is the one this is the one 2

So glad I “just did it!” A ton of vegetables, a basket full of fruit, homemade “Kashi” Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Moose Balls! I am ready to take on the week! 🙂

How cute is this?! I added in the text. Hehe

cute cat

Exactly what the Cat was thinking right?

TV Show’s:
Tuesday night was Pretty Little Liars. This season is starting off great! Who else watched it?!

Thursday I caught up on The Bachelor since I worked late on Monday. Who has a favorite girl? I don’t like the girl who tries to be funny all the time. The one with the nose ring and lived in a different Country for a while before she came on the show. I’ll pass! Haha

Weekend Activity’s: 
Friday night Bae and I went to dinner at the Great Lost Bear! I got the usual… Buffalo Chicken Wrap. It is SO good and SO unhealthy! Haha.. All in moderation. We split the Buffalo Cheese Fries as an App (just like every time we go there) and we both got a beer! I tried the Moat Czech Pilsner (NH.) It was good!

dinner with bae

Last night Bae’s friend came to visit. We played Cards Against Humanity, drank beer, watched the Bruins game, and ate Chinese food. So much fun! Perfect Saturday night. It couldn’t have been better. 🙂

It was a great week. I got to do all my favorite things! All that was missing was my family. I miss them so much! I am having a great time in Portland, Maine. However, I can’t wait for the day my family is just a short drive away! 🙂

I hope you all had a great week. Tell me about it!

I will see you next week. ❤

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Lately 1.12.15-1.18.15

Leave a Reply

