Uncategorized

Graduation Party!

“My father has a bumper sticker on his car that says, “This is your life, not a dress rehearsal.” Now is the time to take action toward accomplishing whatever dreams, ideas or aspirations may be lingering in the back of your mind.” – Integrative Nutrition (Joshua Rosenthal)

I did it. I accomplished the goal of finishing college! On Saturday I will have my diploma saying I survived! I received a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration!

My graduation party was yesterday and it turned out wonderful.

My brother and I

Kate and I

My mother and I

My mom organized the whole thing. A lot of old friends, relatives, and neighbors showed up. I couldn’t have been any happier!

But I also can’t believe a HUGE chapter of my life is ending… School has practically consumed my life since I was 5 and now it’s just over? Although I have INN to look forward to it doesn’t compare to the actual “school” experience! Talk about a huge adjustment!

Who else feels like a lot of what they think about over the years is wondering “who they are?” What their passions are? What really motivates them in life? Not even a year ago I was having a lot of issues not knowing who I was, what I wanted to do in life, and what really made me happy. Of course I liked the thought of nutrition but my version of nutrition a year ago wasn’t anywhere close to what I think of nutrition today. I thought having 2 packets of splenda and skim milk in my coffee every morning was healthy… I am not saying it’s wrong! Especially if you are transitioning into more of a healthier diet. However, what was going through my head wasn’t entirely healthy.

I have come SUCH A LONG WAY in a very short amount of time. I have to give myself credit. However, I am still a little hard on myself at times thinking I should know more then I do. I put myself down if I don’t know the latest health information or have the perfect diet. But in reality, it will never happen.

What works for me may not work for someone else and that’s ok. I will to continue to learn more about nutrition and myself everyday.

Becoming the best version of myself is MOST IMPORTANT and I have the choice to learn, experience and practice at my own pace. Reminding myself that not everything has to be done right away or FAST is also something I have to continue telling myself and practicing. I have learnt to move a lot slower then I have in the past. I can’t thank my ex and brother enough. They are extremely slow and patient. In a good way! Things just roll off of them and they are NEVER in a rush. Which I really admire. I am the total opposite. Less then a year ago I was “go, go, go! and worry, worry, worry!” I never really stopped and asked myself why…

But luckily with a lot of practice, self-help and experimenting i’ve learnt how great it feels to not be so busy all the time! To actually enjoy the moment. To pay attention to my surroundings! Did you ever think that those things are a major part of having good health?? Neither did I! Readings for INN mention how essential it is to enjoy the moment, be “lazy” once in a while, and really reflect on your life everyday to make sure you are in balance.

My journey in health and life will never end. The more I learn the more I want to try, experiment with. It’s obvious now what my true passion is and it’s unrolled in very small small steps. My past and struggles have shaped who I am today and like I tell myself each and everyday “Who I am is everything I have always wanted to be.” 

Just because one chapter is over doesn’t mean I will stop learning. Life is a learning experience and what you practice, do, and how you spend your time reflects who you are. The ones who reflect, learn and are open to new experiences are the ones who will shape into a a truly well rounded young man or women. Which in my opinion seems a lot more interesting then someone who is only consumed with one or two things in life. 🙂

I am excited to start a new chapter in my life! I hope you come on the journey with me because I love sharing with other inspiring and happy individuals! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Graduation Party!

  1. Congrats! I am proud of you! You go girl! Happy summer and jobbing! I think your next chapter will be a great one and you are right you will keep learning a lot! I love that quote at the beginning of this too! I also laughed that I literally just got a hot chocolate with skim milk. Ya caught me!

Leave a Reply

