laurenparadis

smile big because someone will always love you if you learn to love yourself

Elf 4 Health Blog Swap: Diary of an ExSloth

Hello everyone!

Today, Giselle from Diary of an ExSloth will be doing a guest post as part of the Elf4Health blog swap! She’s a self-proclaimed health and fitness nut in training, and has some great stuff in store for you all today.

Also, be sure to check out my post over at Diary of an ExSloth too!

Enjoy!

Life Lessons from an ExSloth

Hey There! How’s it goin’? I’m Giselle and I blog about health & fitness over at Diary of an ExSloth. I ‘met’ Lauren through the Elf for Health challenge we’re both doing this season, and I’m stoked that she’s been kind enough to let me take over her blog for the day! Thanks Lauren :D

Before I dive into more about me and my blog, check out Lauren’s post on my blog today!

Okay, let’s begin!

More about me

You can read more about my story on my blog, but I’ll still share some of the basics with you here.

I’m a health and fitness nut in training. I’ve actually been trying to be healthy for most of my life but I only recently started to understand what works for me. It took a lot of self-searching and countless hours of researching and I still learn something new about healthy and/or fitness every day.

Why do I call myself an ExSloth?

exsloth

Well it’s what I am. I am formerly inactive. I am formerly unhealthy. I am formerly unfit. I’m working on becoming more content with my life and eventually, a little less ‘sloth-y’.

My overall goal is to live an active, healthy and fit life, but one thing I’ve learned is that achieving even one of those goals will take a lifetime. ‘Cuz if you think about it, how will you know the type of life you’ve lived until you’ve, well, lived it? So, I guess you could say I’m a life in progress :D

Active, Healthy & Fit Life Lessons from the ExSloth.

Today, I want to share some of the more important lessons I’ve learned on this journey. Some you’d have seen before, some might be totally unique to me and some you might come across in the future. Regardless, I hope every one of you is able to learn something new or at least relate to something in this list.

So here goes:

1. Love yourself BEFORE you start changing your body!

This one’s important! I’ve written a post about it, I’ve tweeted about it…I even talk about it in my sleep! Okay, maybe not that last one, but I probably should. It’s super important that we work out and eat healthy because we love our bodies instead of the other way around. Trust me…that way lies madness! Take a minute, read my post on body love, then come back and finish the list. It’s okay… I’ll wait ;)

2. Start slowly.

Rushing into things only makes it that much easier to fail. Don’t try to cut out all your vices in one go, or run a mile up-hill the first time you ever lace up your kicks (really, DON’T). Chances are, it won’t work and you’ll just be extremely discouraged when you fail. Instead, try starting by replacing a few bad habits at a time. Pretty soon you’ll be amazing even yourself!

3. Don’t compare yourself to others.

We’re all different. Some people can do 10 pull ups their first time in the gym (slight exaggeration) while I’ve just done my first one – yes, just one – after trying for half a year (not an exaggerationL). Set your goals based on what YOU can do and forget about everyone else. You’ll be much happier that way!

4. You don’t see progress, if you don’t change something.

Before I really started getting serious about health and fitness, every time I passed by a mirror, I would wish I could lose weight. When I tried – and failed – to run up some stairs, I would wish I could do it without being out of breath. Whenever I gorged on chocolates and cake, I would wish I ate better. What I didn’t realize was that I wouldn’t be able to do any of those things, if I didn’t change what I was doing. It’s great to wish, but nothing will happen unless you DO.

5. Drink water.

I probably don’t need to expand on this one, but I will anyway. We all know how bad pop and sugary juices are for us, but we don’t really KNOW.If this is the only lesson you take away from this post, I’d be ecstatic: Ditch the sugary juices and pop and have water instead. You don’t need the empty calories, not to mention, all the other crap that’s in those drinks. TRUST me, you will not regret it! I remember having to wean myself off of Coca-Cola because I got ridiculous headaches when I tried to stop cold turkey. Take it from someone who has been there and cut it out today!

youll-never-fail

6. Don’t give up when you slip up.

I was tempted to do this soooo many times in the last year. I would skip a week of working out, or have a pan of brownies all by myself (or sometimes even both!) and then decide that was it. I was never going to be able to get healthy, so why bother. But really the question should be: ’Why NOT bother’? You have nothing to lose by trying to lead a healthier life. So what if you slip up every so often? We all did it when we were learning to walk, talk, read, write or ride a bike but we didn’t give up. So don’t let a little failure stop you!

7. Everything’s easier with friends and community.

I have to admit that I didn’t get though my struggles with health and fitness on my own. I had amazingly supportive friends and family backing me from the beginning and then later on, I found some virtual friends who really gave me the push I needed. I started my blog and the facebook fan page so that I could do the same for others. It’s also why I joined twitter, instagram and pinterest. There are so many people out there who are going through or have been through some variation of what we’re facing today, and connecting and interacting with them just makes it a little bit easier! So please, feel free to connect with me on any or all of the above :D

What about you?

What have you learned on your health and fitness journey?

Share in the comments section below!

Signature-nov-29

December 18, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. […] And don’t worry, if you were looking forward to today’s Wellness Wednesday post, check out my post over at fooood4theheart!  […]

    Pingback by Elf 4 Health Blow Swap: fooood4theheart Diary of an ExSloth | December 18, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hey girl! Thanks again for being a great elf and “guest posting” on my blog! I really enjoyed your story. You have come such a long way and I really admire that.

    Whether you are trying to become healthier or actually trying NOT to be so healthy, your tips work both ways. I had to learn to give into my cravings and not be so uptight with diet/exercise. Either way you have to start slowly, reach out to friends and family, not compare yourself to others and love yourself before changing your body! It doesn’t matter if you weigh 90 pounds or 390 pounds. We are all human and we all need support with whatever changes we are making in our lives.

    I am glad we both joined #elf4health! It was great to meet a fellow foodie and nutrition nut! I hope to do something like this again soon.

    Stay in touch.

    Lots of love and have a great Christmas!

    Lauren <3

    Comment by laurenparadis | December 18, 2013 | Reply

    • Not sure how I missed this comment! :(
      I loved doing this blog swap with you Lauren and I’m so glad I discovered your blog because of it :D Don’t be surprised if you see a whole slew of comments on random posts from me soon lol
      And don’t worry I’ll definitely stay in touch :) Talk to you soon!

      ~Giselle

      Comment by GiselleR | December 19, 2013 | Reply

      • I agree with all of this! Same to you, I want to go in and read a bunch of your posts and comment! ;)

        Have an amazing Christmas and New Years. You are an amazing elf!

        Lots of love <3

        Lauren

        Comment by laurenparadis | December 20, 2013

  3. LOVE THIS!!!! <3 <3 <3

    Comment by betterlatethannever4happiness | December 18, 2013 | Reply

  4. […] And don’t worry, if you were looking forward to today’s Wellness Wednesday post, check out my post over at fooood4theheart!  […]

    Pingback by Elf 4 Health Blog Swap: fooood4theheart Diary of an ExSloth | December 18, 2013 | Reply

  5. ALL of these tips are right on! Number 6 reminds me of one of my favorite quotes: “Saying, ‘Oh, I’ve already ruined my good eating today; I’ll just eat crap’ is like saying, ‘Oh, I dropped my phone on the floor; I’ll just smash it ’til it breaks.’” It’s sooo easy to just throw in the towel after a slip up and say you’ll get back on track “tomorrow” or “on Monday”. But I think that quote really puts into perspective how irrational that thinking is!

    Comment by Ashleigh @ Passion for Life, Love, and Health | December 19, 2013 | Reply

    • Ashleigh,

      I completely agree! It is so hard to not have the “all or nothing” mentality! I have to work on my thinking everyday. To go in deeper is so easy because you are already further where you want to be.

      Thanks for commenting! Lots of love and have a wonderful Christmas!

      Fellow Elf Lauren xoxo

      Comment by laurenparadis | December 19, 2013 | Reply

  6. Such great tips for body and mind!

    Comment by Ashley @ Power, Love, and Self-Discipline | December 19, 2013 | Reply

  7. […] this month, I wrote and in-depth post about the health and fitness life lessons I learned over the last year on fooood4theheart for the Elf4Health blog swap. It really brought home how much my decision […]

    Pingback by Get started on your healthy lifestyle today! Diary of an ExSloth | December 30, 2013 | Reply

  8. […] this month, I wrote and in-depth post about the health and fitness life lessons I learned over the last year on fooood4theheart for the Elf4Health blog swap. It really brought home how much my decision […]

    Pingback by Get started on your healthy lifestyle today! - The Healthy Sloth | March 4, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,842 other followers

